• /
  • 公告
  • /
  • 斐济犹太人大会引以为豪的一年

斐济犹太人大会引以为豪的一年

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2023 年 12 月 21 日

2023 年是斐济青年商会最富有成效、最具影响力的一年。

我们特别引以为豪的两项成就是罗宾汉英雄奖(Robin Hood Heroes Award)和一宗开创性的凭证歧视案件中近 $1M 的和解金额。

罗宾汉 罗宾汉基金会是纽约当地最大的扶贫基金会。去年 11 月,罗宾汉基金会首次将 "玛丽安-赖特-埃德尔曼英雄奖 "授予哈莱姆区的艺术家和活动家罗宾汉家庭与青年中心。 娜娜-扎基娅. 斐济犹太人委员会帮助她 在她为使用住房券获得一套公寓而奋斗的过程中。

Nana Zakia with FHJC staff and attorney Deborah H. Karpatkin

娜娜-扎基亚(Nana Zakia)与斐济人权和正义中心工作人员及律师德博拉-H-卡尔帕特金(Deborah H. Karpatkin)在一起

在有 500 多位来自商界、慈善界和公共/非营利部门的嘉宾出席的颁奖典礼上,扎基娅女士声情并茂地讲述了她的心路历程、无家可归的经历,以及在经济条件合格的情况下却被拒之门外的心酸。

她赞扬了 FHJC 的调查工作,甚至将我们比作超级英雄。她还鼓励在场的所有人继续努力工作,与歧视作斗争。"她提醒大家:"当你付出的时候,你得到的不仅仅是金钱。"你得到的回报就是像我这样的人,是他们让纽约市成为了它应有的样子"。在 YouTube 上观看扎基娅女士的演讲 这里.

10 月,健康和司法理事会收到了 开创性决定 在针对 Goldfarb PropertiesGoldfarb 是 6000 多套公寓的业主。经过五年多的时间和法院的判决,FHJC 证明了 Goldfarb 通过对公寓申请者设定最低收入要求来拒绝住房券持有者,从而实施了收入来源和残疾歧视。被告被勒令支付 $990,940 美元,停止其歧视性政策,并遵守公平住房法。

这只是其中的两个例子,我们的工作不仅为一个人或一个家庭,而且还为成千上万被剥夺了平等住房权的人们带来了改变。

我们希望您能考虑在年终捐款,以帮助 FHJC 为所有纽约居民建设一个更加公正、更加温馨的纽约。有了您的帮助,我们可以让 2024 年更加辉煌。感谢您考虑捐款。

A Proud Year for the FHJC

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

December 21, 2023

2023 has been one of the FHJC’s most productive and impactful years.

Two achievements we take special pride in are the Robin Hood Heroes Award and a nearly $1M settlement in a groundbreaking voucher discrimination case.

Robin Hood is New York’s largest local poverty-fighting foundation. Last November, Robin Hood bestowed its first ever “Marian Wright Edelman Heroes Award” to the FHJC and Harlem-based artist and activist Nana Zakia. The FHJC aided her in her fight to obtain an apartment using her housing voucher.

Nana Zakia with FHJC staff and attorney Deborah H. Karpatkin

Nana Zakia with FHJC staff and attorney Deborah H. Karpatkin

At an awards ceremony attended by more than 500 guests from the business, philanthropic, and the public/nonprofit sectors, Ms. Zakia spoke powerfully about her journey, about the experience of becoming unhoused, and the heartbreak of being denied a home despite being financially qualified.

She praised the FHJC for our investigative work and even compared us to superheroes. She also encouraged everyone in the room to continue their hard work fighting discrimination. “When you give, you get back more than the dollars,” she reminded everyone. “You get back people like me who make New York City what it’s supposed to be.” Watch Ms. Zakia’s speech on YouTube HERE.

In October, FHJC received a precedent setting decision in a federal lawsuit against Goldfarb Properties, the owner of over 6,000 apartments. It took more than five years and a court decision, but the FHJC proved that Goldfarb engaged in source of income and disability discrimination by setting minimum income requirements for apartment applicants that were designed to reject housing voucher holders. Defendants were ordered to pay $990,940, cease their discriminatory policies and comply with fair housing laws.

These are just two examples of the many ways that the work of FHJC creates change, not just for one individual or family, but for thousands of people who are being denied their right to equal housing opportunity.

We hope you’ll consider making a year-end contribution to help the FHJC pursue a more just, welcoming New York for all of its residents. With your help, we can make 2024 even more remarkable. Thank you for considering donating.