• /
  • 公告
  • /
  • FHJC 发起 "青年公平住房 "活动

FHJC 发起 "青年公平住房 "活动

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2024 年 4 月 19 日

宣传活动在年轻人进入住房市场之前对他们进行教育

公平住房正义中心 (FHJC) 发起了一项新的宣传活动、 青年公平住房针对高中生、大学生和其他准备首次进入住房市场的年轻人。A colorful logo for the Fair Housing for Young Adults initiative首次租房者,包括那些经历过住房不稳定和缺乏大量经济来源的人,尤其容易受到经纪人、房东和其他住房提供者的歧视。当前的住房短缺问题进一步刺激和助长了住房提供者的歧视行为,因此,对于年轻的租房者和其他寻求住房者来说,了解自己的公平住房权比以往任何时候都更为重要。

本月,FHJC 开始与各种学校、宗教团体和社区团体合作,开展面对面和在线讲座,帮助年轻成年人在作为独立成年人开始与住房提供者互动之前认识、预防和消除歧视。

我们将根据学校或组织所需的主题,为不同受众定制演讲内容。可提供的模块包括

  • 对骚扰的认识和应对(包括基于种族、国籍、性别认同和性取向的骚扰以及报复)、
  • 种族歧视(包括在租赁、销售、评估和借贷方面顽固存在的歧视,将测试用作执行民权法的调查工具)
  • LGBTQ+ 保护(包括波士顿后新的联邦保护)、
  • 移民身份(包括威胁报告无证身份、回应房东询问、以语言代表种族和移民身份)、
  • 家庭状况(包括未成年父母的权利、合理的占用标准和引导)、
  • 残疾(包括学生宿舍的无障碍设计和建造,以及隐形残疾)、
  • 宗教(包括佩戴头巾和其他宗教服饰、"附属 "住房的规定和例外情况)、
  • 环境正义与公平住房(包括 "热岛"、铅暴露、超级基金场地、哮喘风险以及红线社区的自然灾害防备)。

Title Slide for the "Fair Housing for Young Adults" program, showing three young people of different races and crediting funding from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.

所有资料,包括西班牙文和中文译本,均可在犹太人大会联合会网站上查看和下载,网址是 bit.ly/FHJCfhya.一系列针对年轻人的社交媒体帖子和广告将进一步强化该活动的信息传递。

如果您所在的学校或组织有兴趣通过主办或参加演示会和/或接收随附的教育材料来参与活动,或者如果您想了解有关该活动的更多信息,请联系 FHJC 接收和外联主任 印第安纳桑托 isanto@fairhousingjustice.org 或致电 212-400-8201。

该计划由美国住房和城市发展部(HUD)公平住房倡议计划(FHIP)的教育和推广倡议(EOI)拨款资助。

FHJC是一个非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;促进政策和方案,以促进开放、无障碍和包容性的社区;并加强纽约市地区公平住房法的执行。

FHJC Launches “Fair Housing for Young Adults”

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

April 19, 2024

AWARENESS CAMPAIGN EDUCATES YOUNG PEOPLE BEFORE THEY ENTER HOUSING MARKET

The Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC), has created a new awareness campaign, Fair Housing for Young Adults, aimed at high school seniors, college students, and other young people preparing to enter the housing market for the first time.A colorful logo for the Fair Housing for Young Adults initiativeFirst time renters, including those who have experienced housing instability and who lack significant financial resources, are especially vulnerable to discrimination by brokers, landlords, and other housing providers. With the current housing shortage further incentivizing and emboldening providers to discriminate, it’s more important than ever for young renters and other home-seekers to know their fair housing rights.

This month, the FHJC begins partnering with a variety of schools, religious communities, and community groups to conduct in-person and online presentations to help young adults recognize, prevent, and eradicate discrimination before they begin interacting with housing providers as independent adults.

The presentations will be customized for various audiences, depending on the school or organization’s desired topics. Available modules include:

  • Harassment Awareness and Response (including harassment based on race, national origin, gender identity and sexual orientation, and retaliation),
  • Race Discrimination (including the stubborn persistence of discrimination in rentals, sales, appraisals, and lending, the use of testing as an investigative tool for enforcing civil rights laws)
  • LGBTQ+ Protections (including new federal protections post-Bostock),
  • Immigration Status (including threats to report undocumented status, responding to landlord inquiries, language as proxy for ethnicity and immigration status),
  • Familial Status (including rights of teen parents, reasonable occupancy standards, and steering),
  • Disability (including accessible design and construction of student housing, and invisible disabilities),
  • Religion (including the wearing of headscarves and other religious clothing, rules and exceptions for “affiliate” housing),
  • Environmental Justice and Fair Housing (including “heat islands,” lead exposure, Superfund sites, asthma risks, and natural disaster preparedness in redlined neighborhoods).

Title Slide for the "Fair Housing for Young Adults" program, showing three young people of different races and crediting funding from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.

All materials, including Spanish and Chinese translations, can be viewed and downloaded from the FHJC website at bit.ly/FHJCfhya. The campaign’s messaging will be further reinforced by a series of social media posts and ads aimed at young adults.

If your school or organization would be interested in participating by hosting or attending a presentation and/or receiving the accompanying educational materials, or if you would like to learn more about the campaign, please contact FHJC Intake and Outreach Director Indiana Santo at isanto@fairhousingjustice.org or call 212-400-8201.

This program is made possible by an Education and Outreach Initiative (EOI) grant from the Fair Housing Initiative Program (FHIP) of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

The mission of the FHJC, a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen enforcement of fair housing laws in the New York City region.