• /
  • 公告
  • /
  • 公平住房无障碍案件得到解决

公平住房无障碍案件得到解决

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2021年11月4日

被告同意对曼哈顿和布鲁克林的两座出租楼进行改造,并支付145万的费用

2021年10月30日,联邦 Gregory H. Woods法官 签署了一项命令,同意保留法院的管辖权,以强制执行双方的和解协议。 公平住房正义中心 (FHJC),开发商被告人 哥谭组织公司(Gotham Organization Inc., Bam Go Developers LLC, Bam Go Developers II, LLC,以及 55 和9 辽宁省商务厅,以及其中一座建筑的建筑师、 FX Collaborative Architects, LLP.双方的协议解决了FHJC在2019年5月提起的诉讼,该诉讼指控纽约市的两座出租楼不符合公平住房无障碍要求。

2018年,FHJC在两个混合收入的租赁开发项目中进行了测试调查: 阿什兰,是一栋53层、有563个单元的布鲁克林公寓楼,建于2016年和 尼科尔这座20层高、有145个单元的曼哈顿公寓楼建于2004年。在其诉讼中,FHJC声称其测试发现这两栋楼的公寓和公共区域的各种特征是无法进入的,不符合公平住房法。

为期5年的和解协议规定,开发商被告将在这两栋楼里实施改造计划,修改住宅单元和公共区域,使住房更无障碍。此外,目前和新的租户将免费为他们的公寓提供一些无障碍设施。被告开发商还将对每栋楼的一些单元进行改造,使其符合《联邦统一无障碍标准》(UFAS)的高度无障碍规范。

开发商被告已经同意与一名检查员签订合同,检查所有的改造工程。Gotham公司和FX合作公司都将聘请顾问,在协议期限内对未来某些多户建筑的建筑图纸和现场情况进行审查。被告还同意让其员工参加公平住房无障碍要求的培训。

一部分和解资金将被添加到FHJC的 阿黛尔弗里德曼住房无障碍基金该计划为符合收入条件的残疾人提供资金,以便对其现有住房进行合理改造,使其成为无障碍住房。

FHJC国家现场顾问 弗雷德-弗賴貝格 (Fred Freiberg) 他说:"最近由FHJC获得的和解应该说服开发商、建筑师和其他参与设计和建造多户住宅的人,建造符合无障碍要求的住房比在发现违法行为后产生大量的改造费用、损害赔偿和律师费更谨慎,成本也更低。"弗赖贝格补充说,"无障碍住房是一项公民权利"。

FHJC的代表是 Debra L. GreenbergerDiane L. Houk 的律师事务所合作。 Emery Celli, Brinckerhoff, Abady Ward & Maazel LLP. 

FHJC对本案的调查得到了私人执法计划(PEI)的资助,该计划由公平住房倡议计划(FHIP)管理。 美国住房和城市发展部 (HUD)。

FHJC是一个非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;促进政策和方案,以促进开放、无障碍和包容性的社区;并加强纽约市地区公平住房法的执行。

Fair Housing Accessibility Case Settled

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

November 4, 2021

DEFENDANTS AGREE TO RETROFIT TWO RENTAL BUILDINGS IN MANHATTAN AND BROOKLYN AND PAY $1.45 MILLION

On October 30, 2021, federal Judge Gregory H. Woods signed an order agreeing to retain court jurisdiction to enforce a settlement agreement between the Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC), developer defendants Gotham Organization Inc., Bam Go Developers LLC, Bam Go Developers II, LLC, and 55th and 9th LLC, and the architect for one of the buildings, FX Collaborative Architects, LLP. The parties’ agreement resolves a lawsuit filed by the FHJC in May 2019 which alleged that two rental buildings in New York City did not comply with fair housing accessibility requirements.

In 2018, the FHJC conducted a testing investigation at two mixed-income rental developments: The Ashland, a 53-story, 563-unit Brooklyn apartment building built in 2016 and The Nicole, a 20-story, 145-unit Manhattan apartment building built in 2004. In its lawsuit, FHJC alleged that its testing identified various features in the apartments and common areas in both buildings that were inaccessible and not in compliance with fair housing laws.

The 5-year settlement agreement provides that the developer defendants will implement retrofit plans at both buildings and modify dwelling units and common areas to make the housing more accessible. In addition, current and new tenants will be offered several accessibility features for their apartments at no cost to the tenants. The developer defendants will also retrofit some units in each building to have them meet the heightened accessibility specifications of the Uniform Federal Accessibility Standards (UFAS).

The developer defendants have agreed to contract with an inspector to inspect all the retrofits. Both Gotham and FX Collaborative will retain consultants to review architectural drawings and site conditions at certain future multi-family buildings during the term of the agreement. Defendants have also agreed to have their employees attend training  on fair housing accessibility requirements.

A portion of the settlement funds will be added to FHJC’s Adele Friedman Housing Accessibility Fund, which provides money to income-eligible persons with disabilities to make reasonable modifications to their existing housing units to make the housing accessible.

FHJC National Field Consultant Fred Freiberg stated, “Recent settlements obtained by the FHJC should persuade developers, architects, and others involved in the design and construction of multi-family residential developments that it is more prudent and far less costly to build housing compliant with accessibility requirements rather than incur substantial expenses for retrofits, damages, and attorneys’ fees after the violations are found.” Freiberg added, “Accessible housing is a civil right.”

FHJC was represented by Debra L. Greenberger and Diane L. Houk with the law firm of Emery Celli, Brinckerhoff, Abady Ward & Maazel LLP. 

FHJC’s investigation in this case was supported with funding from a Private Enforcement Initiative (PEI) grant received from the Fair Housing Initiatives Program (FHIP) administered by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

The mission of the FHJC, a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen enforcement of fair housing laws in the New York City region.