• /
  • 执法
  • /
  • 一个 "善良白人 "的社区

一个 "善良白人 "的社区

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2024 年 6 月 12 日

FHJC 投诉指控种族歧视

ǞǞǞ 公平住房正义中心 (FHJC) 今天宣布,它已提起诉讼,指控房地产经纪人存在种族歧视行为。 朱达-尼亚佐夫阿莱夫蒂娜-约夫 其经纪 Exclusive Properties Realty, Inc.业主 阿米娜-阿里 恩德林-德米罗维奇,以及 202 Marine LLC.与 FHJC 一起提起诉讼的还有共同原告 斯坦利-费利克斯 帕特里夏-德隆还有两名 FHJC 测试人员。

根据起诉书,2023 年 11 月,居住在斯塔滕岛的一对黑人夫妇 Felix 和 Delone 在网上联系了 Niayzov,询问一则空房信息。Niayzov 邀请他们去看公寓,但他们无法参加看房。在无人陪同的情况下看完公寓后,这对夫妇试图申请该公寓,并按要求提供了他们的就业、收入和信用评分文件。Niayzov 还提醒他们提交身份证明复印件,根据投诉内容,身份证明复印件首次显示他们是黑人。

这对夫妇几周都没有收到任何回复。投诉称,在他们的追问下,Niayzov 最终告诉他们,他们的报价被拒绝了。最初给出的理由是他们应该住在布鲁克林,但这并不是事实,也不应该有什么区别。然后,他告诉他们,真正的原因是房主过去曾有过租给黑人房客的负面经历。

德隆将他们的经历报告给了 FHJC,FHJC 发起了一项秘密调查,在调查中,一对匹配的黑人和白人测试者联系了尼亚佐夫和他的合伙人兼妻子伊奥菲,询问可用公寓的情况。

根据投诉,黑人测试者在互动过程中一直受到较差的待遇。尼亚佐夫在预约看房时迟到,对短信和电话置之不理,要求提供收入、信用、就业和身份证明文件后才会发送申请表,而且没有提及黑人测试者特别要求的一个社区内的空房。

与此形成鲜明对比的是,投诉称白人测试者受到了热情接待,获得了额外的房源信息,并享受到了黑人测试者没有享受到的租金折扣。白人测试者还多次收到后续信息和前往经纪公司办公室的邀请。

在与白人测试人员的对话录音中,Niayzov 还发表了明显带有种族主义色彩的言论,据指控称,他曾一度表示,史坦顿岛的一个首选社区有 "很好的白人"。

申诉书指控该公司违反了《公平住房法》、《1866 年民权法案》以及纽约州和纽约市的人权法。请阅读申诉全文 这里.

FHJC执行董事/总顾问 伊丽莎白-格罗斯曼 (Elizabeth Grossman) 他说:"揭露当代的住房歧视是一项挑战,因为它通常是微妙而隐蔽的,大多数受害者根本不知道它的存在。公然的种族主义言论,比如本投诉中指控的那些言论,令人震惊、憎恨,听了让人崩溃。这也再次说明了为什么纽约大都会区仍然存在严重的种族隔离现象"。

"律师表示:"此案令人警醒,即使在 2024 年,公开的种族歧视依然存在。 埃里克-赫克尔.原告由 Hecker 先生和 Mariann Meier Wang 律师事务所代理。 库蒂-赫克尔-王律师事务所.

联邦人权司法委员会对此案的调查得到了以下机构的资助 纽约州住宅和社区重建.

FHJC是一个非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;促进政策和方案,以促进开放、无障碍和包容性的社区;并加强纽约市地区公平住房法的执行。

A Neighborhood of “Nice White People”

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

June 12, 2024

FHJC COMPLAINT ALLEGES RACE DISCRIMINATION

The Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC) announced today it has filed a complaint alleging race discrimination on the part of real estate brokers Juda Niayzov and Alevtina Ioffe, their brokerage Exclusive Properties Realty, Inc., and property owners Amina Ali, Nderim Demirovic, and 202 Marine LLC. The FHJC is joined in the complaint by co-plaintiffs Stanley Felix and Patricia Delone, along with two FHJC testers.

According to the complaint, Felix and Delone, a Black couple living in Staten Island, contacted Niayzov online in November 2023 to inquire about a listing for an available apartment. Niayzov invited them to view the apartment but was unable to attend the viewing. After viewing the apartment unescorted, the couple attempted to apply for the unit, and provided the requested documentation of their employment, income, and credit scores. Niayzov also reminded them to submit copies of their identification, which, according to the complaint, showed for the first time that they are Black.

The couple received no response to their offer for several weeks. The complaint alleges that when pressed, Niayzov eventually told them their offer had been rejected. The initial reason given was that they supposedly lived in Brooklyn, which was not true and should have made no difference. He then told them the real reason was that the owner had had negative experience renting to Black tenants in the past.

Delone reported their experience to the FHJC, which launched an undercover investigation in which matched pairs of Black and white testers contacted Niayzov and his partner and wife Ioffe inquiring about available apartments.

According to the complaint, the Black testers were consistently given worse treatment during their interactions. Niayzov was late for a viewing appointment, ignored texts and calls, required income, credit, employment, and identification documentation before he would send an application form, and did not mention an available apartment in a neighborhood specifically requested by a Black tester.

In contrast, the complaint alleges that white testers were met with enthusiasm, provided with additional listings, and offered rent discounts that were not mentioned to the Black testers. The white testers also received repeated follow-up messages and invitations to the brokerage office.

During recorded conversations with white testers, Niayzov also made explicitly racist comments, at one point stating that a preferred Staten Island neighborhood has “nice white people,” according to the complaint.

The complaint alleges violations of the Fair Housing Act, the 1866 Civil Rights Act, and New York State and New York City Human Rights laws. The full complaint can be read HERE.

FHJC Executive Director/General Counsel Elizabeth Grossman stated, “Uncovering contemporary housing discrimination is challenging because it’s usually subtle and hidden, and most victims have no idea it’s happening. Flagrant racist statements, like those alleged in this complaint, are shocking, hateful, and devastating to hear. And they are yet another example of why the New York metro area remains so highly segregated.”

“This case is a sobering reminder that overt race discrimination continues to persist, even in 2024,” stated attorney Eric Hecker. The plaintiffs are represented by Mr. Hecker and Mariann Meier Wang with the law firm Cuti Hecker Wang LLP.

The FHJC’s investigation in this case was supported with funding from New York State Homes and Community Renewal.

The mission of the FHJC, a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen enforcement of fair housing laws in the New York City region.