• /
  • 执法
  • /
  • "新建建筑的无障碍设计不是选项,而是法律"。

"新建建筑的无障碍设计不是选项,而是法律"。

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2024 年 1 月 2 日

Westche 设计与施工残疾歧视诉讼案达成最终和解斯特尔县

公平住房正义中心 (FHJC) 今天宣布,已与以下各方达成 $993,250 美元的和解协议 Lighthouse Living LLC 及相关实体;Lighthouse Living Realty, LLC;J&J Management Services LLC; 帕普建筑师事务所

 该诉讼最初于 2020 年 5 月 27 日向美国纽约南区地方法院提起,指控被告在威彻斯特郡三个多户住宅开发项目的设计和施工中存在基于残疾的歧视,违反了《公平住房法》(FHA)和《纽约州人权法》(NYSHRL)。

诉讼的依据是 2018年底由FHJC开展的一项检测调查该研究揭示了 迪卡勒之一, 灯光屋 木材厂 纽约市住房委员会在调查中发现,这些公寓没有遵守《公平住房法》和《纽约州人权法》。具体而言,调查发现,这些建筑的前门无法进入或需要使用特别的力量才能进入,邮箱被放置在无法进入的位置,公用屋顶空间有较高的门槛或其他通向这些空间的障碍,浴室和厨房缺乏足够的净空,公寓内的步入式壁橱过于狭窄,环境控制装置和电源插座被放置在无法进入的位置。

除货币和解外,被告还同意了有关标的物业改造、公平住房合规性和报告义务的和解条款。具体而言,和解要求被告承担所有单个住宅单元和公共使用区域的改造费用,并在和解生效之日起 180 天内完成所有公共使用区域的改造。此外,被告还同意在未来住户提出要求后 14 天内,根据要求对住宅单元进行某些改造,并通知所有现有住户可根据要求提供一些无障碍设施。

被告还同意遵守《联邦住房法》和《纽约州住房和人力资源法》,并将通过和向其所有雇员分发《平等住房机会政策》。被告的负责人也将参加公平住房培训。此外,被告还承诺让独立顾问审查其他涉及项目,以确定其设计和施工中的任何缺陷,被告将有义务纠正这些缺陷。请阅读和解协议全文 这里.

"建筑师和开发商必须遵守法律,设计和建造整个社区都能使用的住宅。 爱丽丝-赖特他与 John R. Cuti 玛丽安-梅尔-王库蒂-赫克尔-王律师事务所在这起案件中,FHJC 的代表律师是 R. M. B. J. , R. M. B. J. , 代表 FHJC。"这一实质性的和解--包括近 $1M 的付款、重大改造和大量的禁令救济--反映了 FHJC 坚定不移地致力于执行公平住房法,以消除对残疾人的歧视"。

"新建建筑的无障碍设计不是一种选择,而是法律规定。当建筑师和开发商不遵守《公平住房法》,设计和建造无障碍建筑时,他们就在延续一种将残疾人视为次等人和不受欢迎的循环。 Cass Sicherer他是公平住房司法委员会的残疾人司法和无障碍法律研究员。"此次和解是我们加大公平住房法测试和执法力度的一部分,表明我们将继续努力追究开发商和建筑师在设计和施工中的违规责任"。

FHJC对本案的调查得到了私人执法计划(PEI)的资助,该计划由公平住房倡议计划(FHIP)管理。 美国住房和城市发展部 (HUD)。

公平住房正义中心(FHJC)是一家非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;推广促进开放、无障碍和包容性社区的政策和计划;加强纽约市地区公平住房法的执行力度。

• /
  • Enforcement
  • /
  • “Accessibility in New Builds Is Not an Option, It Is the Law.”

“Accessibility in New Builds Is Not an Option, It Is the Law.”

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

January 2, 2024

FINAL SETTLEMENT REACHED IN DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION DISABILITY DISCRIMINATION LAWSUIT IN WESTCHESTER COUNTY

The Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC) announced today that a $993,250 monetary settlement has been reached with Lighthouse Living LLC and related entities; Lighthouse Living Realty, LLC; J&J Management Services LLC; and Papp Architects, P.C.

 Originally filed on May 27, 2020, in the United States District Court of the Southern District of New York, the suit alleged that Defendants discriminated based on disability in the design and construction of three multi-family residential developments in Westchester County in violation of the Fair Housing Act (FHA) and New York State Human Rights Law (NYSHRL).

The lawsuit is based on the results of a testing investigation conducted by the FHJC in late 2018, which revealed that numerous features in One Dekalb, The Light House, and The Wood Works failed to comply with the Fair Housing Act and New York State Human Rights Law. Specifically, the investigation found that front entrances to the buildings were inaccessible or required extraordinary force to use, mailboxes were placed in inaccessible locations, common roof spaces had high thresholds or other barriers leading to them, bathrooms and kitchens lacked adequate clear floor space, walk-in closets within apartments were too narrow, and environmental controls and electrical outlets were placed in inaccessible locations.

In addition to the monetary settlement, Defendants agreed to settlement terms regarding retrofits of the subject properties, fair housing compliance, and reporting obligations. Specifically, the settlement requires Defendants to bear the costs of all individual dwelling unit and common use area retrofits, and that they complete all common-use retrofits within 180 days of the effective date of the settlement. In addition, Defendants agreed to make certain on-request retrofits in dwelling units within 14 days of a prospective resident’s request and to notify all current residents of a number of accessibility features available upon request.

Defendants also agreed to comply with the FHA and NYSHRL, and will adopt and distribute to all their employees an Equal Housing Opportunity Policy. Principals of Defendants will also attend fair housing trainings. Moreover, Defendants have committed to having an independent consultant review other covered projects to identify any deficiencies in their design and construction, which Defendants will be obligated to cure. The full settlement can be read HERE.

“It is critical that architects and developers follow the law to design and construct residential housing that is accessible to the entire community,” said Alice Reiter, who along with John R. Cuti and Mariann Meier Wang of Cuti Hecker Wang LLP, represented the FHJC. “This substantial settlement – including a payment of nearly $1M, significant retrofits, and considerable injunctive relief – reflects the FHJC’s steadfast commitment to enforcing fair housing laws to eradicate discrimination against individuals with disabilities.”

“Accessibility in new builds is not an option, it is the law. When architects and developers fail to follow the Fair Housing Act and design and construct inaccessible buildings, they are perpetuating a cycle that treats people with disabilities as less than and unwanted,” stated Cass Sicherer, the FHJC’s Disability Justice and Accessibility Legal Fellow. “This settlement, as part of our greater testing and enforcement of fair housing laws, demonstrates that we will continue to work to hold developers and architects responsible for design and construction violations.”

The FHJC’s investigation in this case was supported with funding from a Private Enforcement Initiative (PEI) grant received from the Fair Housing Initiatives Program (FHIP) administered by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

The mission of the Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC), a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen enforcement of fair housing laws in the New York City region.