• /
  • 执法
  • /
  • "无障碍绝不是一种选择

"无障碍绝不是一种选择

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2023 年 12 月 20 日

FHJC 调查显示存在残疾歧视

今天 公平住房正义中心 (FHJC) 宣布已向美国纽约南区地方法院提起住房歧视诉讼,起诉开发商 国际象棋建筑公司业主 2337 Bedford LLC, Otts Ocean LLC、 Deegan 135 Realty LLC; 和建筑师 Wider Architect P.C.,以及 Fischer+Makooi Architects PLLC 指控被告在布朗克斯区和布鲁克林区设计并建造了无障碍出租房。

该投诉源于 FHJC 于 2022 年对 Chess Builders 的三处出租物业进行的测试调查。调查显示,该公司违反了《公平住房法》(FHA)、《美国残疾人法》(ADA)以及纽约州和纽约市《人权法》的无障碍要求。

拱门 在布朗克斯区一栋 25 层高、拥有 430 个单元的出租楼中,FHJC 的测试人员发现卧室、浴室、步入式衣橱、公共区域和车库都存在无障碍设施。FHJC 还测试了 贝德福德大道 2337 号该案是由 Chess Builders 在布鲁克林开发的一栋拥有 27 个单元的 6 层建筑,并发现被告未能在停车场、公共区域和公寓提供所需的无障碍设施。在 海洋大道 1326 号FHJC 的测试人员发现,在大楼的公共区域和单元中存在无障碍设施。

根据诉状,被告不遵守州和地方民权法律的行为构成非法的残疾歧视,并使不平等的住房机会长期存在。FHJC 正在寻求禁令救济,以对这三个地点进行改造,使其符合法律规定,并防止被告今后再建造无障碍住房,同时寻求补偿性和惩罚性赔偿。请阅读申诉全文 这里.

"开发商和建筑师不能凌驾于法律之上,他们必须设计和建造符合规定的无障碍标准的住房。 Cass Sicherer他是FHJC的残疾公正和无障碍法律研究员。"如果不这样做,长期以来的残疾歧视就会延续下去,残疾人就无法在自己选择的住房中生活。无障碍从来不是一种选择,而是法律。这起投诉是无障碍住房委员会决心创建无障碍社区和打击住房歧视的一个例证"。

联合会的代表律师是 Diane L. Houk, 萨拉-卢斯-埃斯特拉,以及 Laura S. Kokotailo 与该律师事务所 Emery Celli Brinckerhoff Abady Ward and Maazel LLP 律师事务所.

公平住房正义中心(FHJC)是一家非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;推广促进开放、无障碍和包容性社区的政策和计划;加强纽约市地区公平住房法的执行力度。

“Accessibility Is Never an Option”

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

December 20, 2023

FHJC INVESTIGATION REVEALS DISABILITY DISCRIMINATION

Today, the Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC) announced that it filed a housing discrimination lawsuit in the United States District Court Southern District of New York against developer Chess Builders LLC; owners 2337 Bedford LLC, Otts Ocean LLC, and Deegan 135 Realty LLC; and architects Wider Architect P.C., and Fischer+Makooi Architects PLLC alleging the Defendants designed and constructed inaccessible rental housing in the Bronx and Brooklyn.

The complaint stems from FHJC’s testing investigation of three Chess Builders rental properties conducted in 2022. The investigation revealed violations of the accessibility requirements of the Fair Housing Act (FHA), the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and the New York State and City Human Rights Laws.

At The Arches, a 25-story, 430-unit rental building in the Bronx, FHJC testers found inaccessible features in the bedrooms, bathrooms, walk-in closets, common areas, and garage. The FHJC also tested 2337 Bedford Avenue, a 6-story 27-unit building in Brooklyn developed by Chess Builders and found that Defendants failed to provide required accessibility features in the parking garage, common areas, and apartments. At 1326 Ocean Avenue, an 8-story 116-unit rental building also in Brooklyn and developed by Chess Builders, FHJC testers found inaccessible features in the building’s common areas and units.

According to the complaint, Defendants’ failure to follow state and local civil rights laws constitutes illegal disability discrimination and perpetuates unequal housing opportunities. The FHJC is seeking injunctive relief to retrofit these three sites to bring them into compliance with the law and to prevent Defendants from building future inaccessible housing, as well as compensatory and punitive damages. The full complaint can be read HERE.

“Developers and architects are not above the law and must design and construct housing that conforms to required accessibility standards,” stated Cass Sicherer, the FHJC’s Disability Justice and Accessibility Legal Fellow. “Failure to do so perpetuates a long history of disability discrimination in which people with disabilities are unable to live in the housing of their choice. Accessibility is never an option; it is the law. This complaint is an example of the FHJC’s determination create accessible communities and fight housing discrimination.”

The FHJC is represented by Attorneys Diane L. Houk, Sara Luz Estela, and Laura S. Kokotailo with the law firm Emery Celli Brinckerhoff Abady Ward and Maazel LLP.

The mission of the Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC), a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen enforcement of fair housing laws in the New York City region.