• /
  • 执法
  • /
  • FHJC 投诉中指控的错误假设和成见

FHJC 投诉中指控的错误假设和成见

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2024 年 6 月 14 日

FHJC 指控成人护理机构歧视轮椅使用者

公平住房正义中心 (FHJC)向美国纽约南区地方法院(SDNY)提起残疾歧视诉讼,起诉为纽约残障人士提供住房和服务的多家成人护理机构(ACF)的所有者和经营者。被告包括 Harbor View Senior Living Residence LLC、Amber Court of Brooklyn, LLC Lakehaven Equities Inc、Judith Lyn Home for Adults LLC、Amber Court of Westbury II LLC、 Amber Court @ Suffolk County LLC.  

2023 年,FHJC 开始对被告的设施进行调查,指派测试人员假扮家庭成员,为其使用轮椅的亲属寻求入住信息。通过调查,FHJC 收集到的证据显示,被告采取一刀切的政策,将使用轮椅的潜在住户拒之门外,却允许其他潜在住户申请入住。 

被告没有进行个性化的资格确定评估或提供合理的便利,而是让其亲属使用轮椅的测试者到其他地方寻找住房和服务,或者在承诺他们会这样做之后没有采取后续行动。与此相反,其亲属不使用轮椅的测试者可以继续被告的 ACF 申请程序。   

投诉称,被告一概歧视和排斥使用轮椅(包括手动和电动轮椅)的未来住户,违反了《公平住房法》(FHA)、《康复法》第 504 条和《患者保护与平价医疗法》(ACA)第 1557 条。  

投诉全文可阅读 这里. 

"一刀切地将轮椅使用者视为铁板一块,而允许所有其他潜在居民继续住宅申请程序的政策构成了残疾歧视。 Cass Sicherer他是 FHJC 的残疾公正和无障碍法律研究员。"ACF 的所有者和经营者在制定政策时不能依赖对残疾人的错误假设和成见。他们必须平等地对待所有潜在的住户"。  

在这场诉讼中,FHJC 的代理律师是 Lisa E. Cleary, Lachlan Campbell-Verduyn, Joyce L. Nadipuram、 萨尼娅-苏里 Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP 律师事务所,以及 Jota Borgmann Kevin M. Cremin 动员起来争取正义 

"被告的政策非法剥夺了残疾人平等获得住房的机会。这一诉讼旨在消除这些成人护理设施的所有者和经营者的系统性歧视,"Patterson Belknap 的合伙人、FJHC 的联合律师 Lisa E. Cleary 表示,"被告一方面向公众和监管机构宣称他们的存在是为了服务纽约的残疾人,另一方面却实施了全面的政策,因为使用轮椅的人使用轮椅而拒绝他们进入。 

Mobilization for Justice 的乔塔-博格曼(Jota Borgmann)是 FHJC 的联合律师,她补充说:"在纽约州,对使用轮椅的人的歧视在辅助生活设施中非常普遍,这对最需要这种带有服务的住房的人来说是非常有害的。我们希望住房提供者和消费者都能注意到,残疾歧视在辅助生活设施中是没有立足之地的。  

FHJC 是一个非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;推广促进开放、无障碍和包容性社区的政策和计划;以及加强纽约市地区公平住房法的执行力度。

• /
  • Enforcement
  • /
  • False Assumptions and Stereotypes Alleged in FHJC Complaint

False Assumptions and Stereotypes Alleged in FHJC Complaint

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

June 14, 2024

FHJC ALLEGES THAT ADULT CARE FACILITIES DISCRIMINATE AGAINST WHEELCHAIR USERS

The Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC) has filed a disability discrimination lawsuit in the United States District Court Southern District of New York (SDNY) against the owners and operators of multiple Adult Care Facilities (ACFs) that provide housing and services to New Yorkers with disabilities. The named Defendants are Harbor View Senior Living Residence LLC, Amber Court of Brooklyn, LLC Lakehaven Equities Inc, Judith Lyn Home for Adults LLC, Amber Court of Westbury II LLC, and Amber Court @ Suffolk County LLC.  

In 2023, the FHJC began an investigation into Defendants’ facilities, assigning testers to pose as family members seeking admission information for their relatives who use wheelchairs. Through its investigation, the FHJC collected evidence showing that Defendants apply a blanket policy of turning away prospective residents who use wheelchairs while allowing other prospective residents to apply. 

Instead of conducting an individualized determination of eligibility assessment or providing a reasonable accommodation, Defendants told testers whose relatives use wheelchairs to look elsewhere for housing and services or failed to follow-up after promising they would. In contrast, testers whose relatives did not use wheelchairs could proceed with Defendants’ ACF application process.   

The complaint alleges that Defendants’ blanket discrimination against and exclusion of prospective residents who use wheelchairs (including manual and motorized) violates the Fair Housing Act (FHA), Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, and Section 1557 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA).  

The full complaint can be read HERE. 

“Blanket policies that treat wheelchair users as a monolith, while allowing all other prospective residents to proceed with residential application processes, constitutes disability discrimination,” shared Cass Sicherer, FHJC’s Disability Justice and Accessibility Legal Fellow. “Owners and operators of ACFs cannot rely on false assumptions and stereotypes about people with disabilities in the creation of their policies. They must treat all prospective residents equally.”  

The FHJC is represented in this lawsuit by Lisa E. Cleary, Lachlan Campbell-Verduyn, Joyce L. Nadipuram, and Saniya Suri with Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP, and Jota Borgmann and Kevin M. Cremin with Mobilization for Justice 

“The Defendants’ policies unlawfully deny opportunity for equal access to housing to individuals with disabilities. This action seeks to eradicate systemic discrimination by the owners and operators of these adult care facilities,” stated Lisa E. Cleary, a partner at Patterson Belknap and co-counsel for FJHC.“While professing to the public and regulators that they exist to serve disabled New Yorkers, Defendants have implemented blanket policies to refuse admission to people who use wheelchairs because of their wheelchair use.” 

Jota Borgmann of Mobilization for Justice, co-counsel for FHJC, added, “Discrimination against people who use wheelchairs has been pervasive in assisted living in New York State and it’s very harmful to the people who most need this kind of housing with services. We hope housing providers and consumers alike take note that disability discrimination has no place in assisted living.”  

The mission of the FHJC, a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen enforcement of fair housing laws in the New York City region.