• /
  • 执法
  • /
  • FHJC 在动议实践中获胜

FHJC 在动议实践中获胜

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2024 年 3 月 13 日

法院驳回大卫-斯皮拉和 1402 业主公司关于驳回收入来源歧视诉讼的动议

3 月 12 日,纽约州最高法院公开提交了一份意见书,其中指出 彼得-斯威尼法官 驳回了两名被告在一起收入来源歧视诉讼案中提出的驳回动议。 公平住房正义中心(FHJC) 和个人共同原告 娜奥米-亨德森  搬家的被告 1402业主公司。 戴维-斯皮拉他们提出了许多论据,试图回避此案,但却被要求在十天内提交联合答辩。

最初于 2022 年提交该诉讼源于 FHJC 开展的一项广泛调查。调查显示,被告对那些声称自己将仅靠工作收入来支付房租的潜在申请人给予了积极的对待,给予了热情和翔实的答复,而对那些持有住房券的申请人则完全置之不理。这证实了 纳奥米-亨德森女士她是一名 67 岁的纽约人和著名的终身活动家,当时住在无家可归者收容所。她使用 100% CityFHEPS 凭单苦苦寻找公寓,在遭受被告的歧视性待遇后,她联系了 FHJC。

多名被告以有意义的方式解决了他们的索赔要求:2023 年 12 月与九名被告中的五名达成的协议可以阅读 这里.

David Spira 和 1402 Owners Corp. 坚持抗辩,在驳回诉讼的动议中提出了许多论据。法院驳回了被告的全部动议。值得注意的是,斯威尼法官认为,FHJC 对这些房东被告提出了充分的索赔要求,确认了房东对经纪人歧视行为的替代责任。法院进一步认定,FHJC 提起诉讼的组织地位 "无可置疑"。请阅读判决全文 这里.

"FHJC 法律协调员表示:"法律站在我们这一边。 马杜利卡-穆拉里 (Madhulika Murali)."公平住房法的存在是为了确保我们的社区成员能够平等、有尊严地获得住房。通过这次驳回诉讼,我们现在可以继续确保将被告绳之以法"。

我们很高兴法院做出了这一深思熟虑的裁决,驳回了 David Spira 和 1402 毫无根据的论点,尤其是考虑到纽约州和纽约市的法律是如何广泛地授权住房券持有者和公平住房组织打击此类歧视行为的,"律师表示,"我们很高兴法院做出了这一深思熟虑的裁决,驳回了 David Spira 和 1402 毫无根据的论点。 希瑟-格雷戈里奥.格雷戈里奥女士和律师 Mariann Wang 与该律师事务所 库蒂-赫克尔-王律师事务所 在这起诉讼中担任 FHJC 的代理律师。律师 Deborah H. Karpatkin 代表娜奥米-亨德森。

FHJC是一个非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;促进政策和方案,以促进开放、无障碍和包容性的社区;并加强纽约市地区公平住房法的执行。

FHJC Wins Motion Practice

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

March 13, 2024

COURT DENIES DAVID SPIRA AND 1402 OWNERS CORP.’S MOTION TO DISMISS SOURCE OF INCOME DISCRIMINATION LAWSUIT

On March 12, an opinion was publicly filed in which New York State Supreme Court Justice Peter P. Sweeney denied a motion to dismiss filed by two defendants in a source-of-income discrimination lawsuit brought by the Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC) and individual co-plaintiff Naomi Henderson.  The moving defendants, 1402 Owners Corp. and David Spira, made numerous arguments in an effort to sidestep the case, but were instead directed to file their joint answer within ten days.

Originally filed in 2022, this lawsuit stems from an extensive investigation conducted by the FHJC. The investigation revealed that defendants treated potential applicants who stated they would be paying their rent with income solely from employment positively, giving them warm and informative responses, while completely ignoring applicants with vouchers. This corroborated the experience of Ms. Naomi Henderson, a 67-year-old New Yorker and notable lifelong activist, who was living in a homeless shelter at the time. She was struggling to find an apartment using her 100% CityFHEPS voucher and contacted the FHJC after experiencing discriminatory treatment by defendants.

Multiple defendants settled their claims in meaningful ways: an agreement with five of the nine defendants filed in December 2023 can be read HERE.

David Spira and 1402 Owners Corp. insisted on fighting, raising numerous arguments in a motion to dismiss. The Court denied the defendants’ motion to dismiss in its entirety. Notably, Justice Sweeney found that the FHJC adequately alleged claims against these landlord defendants, affirming the vicarious liability of landlords for the discriminatory conduct of brokers. The Court further found that FHJC’s organizational standing to bring this lawsuit is “beyond peradventure.” The full decision can be read HERE.

“The law is on our side,” stated FHJC Legal Coordinator Madhulika Murali. “Fair housing laws exist to ensure that members of our community can be housed with equality and dignity. With this dismissal, we can now continue to ensure that defendants are brought to account.”

“We are pleased the Court issued this thoughtful decision rejecting David Spira and 1402’s baseless arguments, particularly given how broadly NYS and NYC laws empower voucher holders and fair housing organizations to fight against this type of discrimination,” stated attorney Heather Gregorio. Ms. Gregorio and attorney Mariann Wang with the law firm Cuti Hecker Wang LLP represent the FHJC in this lawsuit. Attorney Deborah H. Karpatkin represents Naomi Henderson.

The mission of the FHJC, a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen enforcement of fair housing laws in the New York City region.