• /
  • 执法
  • /
  • 残疾歧视案达成最终和解

残疾歧视案达成最终和解

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2024 年 5 月 21 日

开发商已完成两次改造

ǞǞǞ 公平住房正义中心 (FHJC) 今天宣布已与被告达成最终和解协议。 美国铜建筑有限责任公司, AH 美国铜业有限责任公司, 和 MS American Copper LLC.

此案最初源于 FHJC 2018 年的一项检测调查 该诉讼揭露了纽约市几栋豪华公寓楼在设计和建造过程中涉嫌违反无障碍设施的规定。最初的诉讼 2021 年 3 月结算 被告同意支付 $290 万美元,并及时进行广泛的无障碍改造。

2023 年 7 月,FHJC 修订了其诉状,指控改造工程未在规定时间内全部完成。该诉讼导致 $800,000 结算付款和承付款 在 2023 年 11 月 15 日之前完成大部分剩余的必要改造,如果未能在商定的最后期限之前完成,将受到严格的处罚。

根据今天宣布的最终和解协议,FHJC 承认被告现已完全完成 2021 年和 2023 年和解协议所要求的所有补救措施。在不承认任何不当行为的同时,被告还同意向 FHJC 额外支付 $285,000 美元,并遵守所有公平住房法律。

"正如我们在这起案件和其他残疾歧视案件中反复声明的那样:无障碍设施不是奢侈品,不是新奇事物,也不是可有可无的设计特征。它是一项公民权利。 伊丽莎白-格罗斯曼 (Elizabeth Grossman)."斐济人权和司法委员会不会因此而放弃对侵犯这一权利的行为进行调查和诉讼的工作"。

检察官 玛丽安-梅尔-王 他补充说:"2021 年最初支付的 $290 万美元已经是 FHJC 有史以来获得的最大一笔赔偿金。由于被告屡次不履约,赔偿总额已接近 $4 百万美元。这一史无前例的数字,加上广泛的补救措施和其他禁令救济,应该让纽约和全国各地的开发商在考虑在住宅设计和施工中偷工减料或藐视法院命令的改造期限之前真正暂停一下"。

FHJC 由 Wang 女士代表、 爱丽丝.G. Reiter,以及 埃里克-赫克尔 的律师事务所合作。 Cuti Hecker Wang LLP

联邦地区法院法官批准并签署了该和解协议。 安娜丽莎-托雷斯 和解协议全文如下 这里.

 FHJC最初对此案的调查是由公平住房倡议计划(FHIP)提供的私人执法倡议(PEI)拨款支持的。 美国住房和城市发展部(HUD).

FHJC是一个非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;促进政策和方案,以促进开放、无障碍和包容性的社区;并加强纽约市地区公平住房的执行。

• /
  • Enforcement
  • /
  • Final Settlement Reached in Disability Discrimination Case

Final Settlement Reached in Disability Discrimination Case

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

May 21, 2024

DEVELOPERS HAVE COMPLETED TWICE-ORDERED RETROFITS

The Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC) announced today it has entered into a final settlement agreement with Defendants American Copper Building LLC, AH American Copper LLC, and MS American Copper LLC.

The case originally stemmed from a 2018 testing investigation by the FHJC which revealed alleged accessibility violations in the design and construction of several New York City luxury apartment buildings. That original lawsuit settled in March 2021 with Defendants agreeing to pay $2.9 million and to make extensive accessibility-related retrofits in a timely manner.

In July 2023, the FHJC amended its complaint to allege that the retrofits had not been fully completed within the required timeframe. That lawsuit resulted in an $800,000 settlement payment and commitment to completing the majority of the remaining required retrofits by November 15, 2023, with strict penalties for failure to meet agreed-upon deadlines.

Under the final settlement announced today, the FHJC acknowledges that Defendants have now fully completed all remediations required under both the 2021 and 2023 settlements. While admitting no wrongdoing, Defendants also agreed to pay the FHJC an additional $285,000 and to comply with all fair housing laws.

“As we have repeatedly stated during this and other disability discrimination cases: Accessibility is not a luxury, a novelty, or an optional design feature. It is a civil right,” said FHJC Executive Director and General Counsel Elizabeth Grossman. “The FHJC will not be deterred from our work of investigating and litigating violations of that right.”

Attorney Mariann Meier Wang added, “The initial 2021 payment of $2.9 million was already the largest monetary settlement ever obtained by the FHJC. Defendants’ repeated failures to comply have brought the total payments to nearly $4 million. That unprecedented figure, along with the extensive remediation and other injunctive relief, should give developers in New York and around the country real pause before they consider cutting corners in residential design and construction or flouting court ordered retrofitting deadlines.”

The FHJC was represented by Ms. Wang, Alice. G. Reiter, and Eric Hecker with the law firm of Cuti Hecker Wang LLP

The settlement was approved and signed by federal District Court Judge Analisa Torres. The full text of the settlement can be read HERE.

 FHJC’s original investigation in this case was supported with funding from a Private Enforcement Initiative (PEI) grant received from the Fair Housing Initiatives Program (FHIP) administered by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

The mission of the FHJC, a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen fair housing enforcement in the New York City region.