"我找回了我的生活

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2023 年 12 月 8 日

FHJC 在另一起收入来源诉讼案中达成和解

今天 公平住房正义中心 (弗吉尼亚州圣路易斯市)宣布,在弗吉尼亚州圣路易斯市和共同原告提起的诉讼中,已与九名被告中的五名达成和解。 Naomi Henderson.诉讼指控布鲁克林房产存在收入来源歧视 海滩天堂公寓、 位于 9-49 Murdock Court 和 2662 West 2nd Street,以及 Theda花园、 位于西四街 1402 号。

FHJC 和 Henderson 女士已与 Beach Haven 公寓的相关被告达成和解: 海滩避风港业主 海滨港公寓联营有限公司鲁宾-施隆,以及 赫伯-杜曼, 物业管理人 公寓管理协会有限责任公司 d/b/a Revona Properties雷沃纳员工 Jimit Shah (海滩港被告")的诉讼。 本案将继续针对与 Theda Gardens 有关的被告:业主 1402 业主公司...和 戴维-斯皮拉, 房地产公司 ERN Group Inc. d/b/a Ern Flats房地产经纪人 Simi Fishof.

最初于 2022 年 8 月提交亨德森女士是一位 67 岁的纽约人,也是一位著名的终身活动家,她住在无家可归者收容所,并在努力使用 CityFHEPS 凭单寻找公寓。FHJC 的调查发现,被告积极对待那些声称将用工作收入支付房租的潜在申请人,给予他们热情和鼓励的答复,而持有住房券的申请人则经常遭到冷遇,亨德森女士和她的代理人就是如此。可阅读完整的修订起诉书 这里.

在否认指控的同时,Beach Haven 被告同意共同支付 $350,000 美元的赔偿金,并使用 Henderson 女士目前的住房券为她在 Beach Haven 提供一套单卧室公寓。

被告还将参与广泛的禁令救济,包括

  • 避免收入来源歧视
  • 对所有租房申请人适用非歧视性政策、程序和规则
  • 对所有业主、成员、合伙人、管理人员、雇员、代理人或其他参与展示或提供公寓信息的人员实行平等住房机会政策
  • 在直接通知任何潜在申请人或房地产中介之前,在 Craigslist 和 Streeteasy 上公开发布海滩港公寓广告
  • 在 Craigslist 和 Streeteasy 的广告上用大号字体标明 "平等住房机会--欢迎所有收入来源,包括第八部分和 CityFHEPS 等政府凭证 "字样
  • 要求对参与 Beach Haven 公寓咨询、展示和出租公寓的业主及其雇员和代理人,以及在 Revona 拥有或管理的其他楼宇中监督此类人员的雇员进行公平住房培训。
  • 与申请者合作,使其凭单计划和/或政府援助能够支付任何适用的费用或押金。
  • 在被告沙阿的记录中写下纪律处分书,警告他今后再有违规行为将被停职或解雇
  • 在 Beach Haven 的醒目位置放置住房和城市发展部公平住房标牌,并在标牌上标明所有公寓咨询请致电 Beach Haven 租赁办公室的电子邮件地址和电话号码
  • 在所有公寓广告和提供给潜在租房申请者的所有印刷材料上印上公平住房标志和/或语言。

金斯县最高法院法官 Peter P. Sweeney 于 2023 年 11 月 29 日下令达成和解。请阅读和解协议全文 这里.

"原告纳奥米-亨德森(Naomi Henderson)说:"在无家可归三年之后,是这场诉讼的力量让我离开了收容所,住进了我本可以也应该在 2022 年 4 月就拥有的公寓--在我喜欢的一栋楼里。"原告纳奥米-亨德森(Naomi Henderson)说。有了真正属于自己的家,我可以自己做饭,保持自己的作息时间,从事我的创作和治疗工作。我非常感谢 FHJC 和为我的案件工作的'奇女子'团队,"她补充道。

"被告的收入来源歧视延长了亨德森女士在纽约市收容所的时间。 这场诉讼给了她体面、安全和有保障的永久性住房,以及监督和补救措施,使发生在她身上的事情不会再发生在其他人身上。 德博拉-H-卡尔帕特金 她代表亨德森女士。

纽约有太多的房东和中介仍然认为,忽视住房券持有者比与他们合作找到他们已经有资格获得的安全、体面的住房更便宜、更容易,"FHJC 法律协调员说,"纽约有太多的房东和中介仍然认为,忽视住房券持有者比与他们合作找到他们已经有资格获得的安全、体面的住房更便宜、更容易。 马杜利卡-穆拉里 (Madhulika Murali)."这次和解应该让他们重新考虑是否要继续违法"。

律师 Mariann Wang 和 希瑟-格雷戈里奥 与该律师事务所 库蒂-赫克尔-王律师事务所 格雷戈里奥女士在此次诉讼中代表 FHJC。"格雷戈里奥女士表示:"我们希望,通过实现重大而广泛的救济,此次和解将朝着创建一个拥有住房券的个人和家庭能够获得他们所需和应得住房的城市又迈进了一步。

FHJC是一个非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;促进政策和方案,以促进开放、无障碍和包容性的社区;并加强纽约市地区公平住房法的执行。

“I Have My Life Back”

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

December 8, 2023

FHJC ACHIEVES SETTLEMENT IN ANOTHER SOURCE OF INCOME LAWSUIT

Today, the Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC) announced that a settlement has been reached with five of the nine defendants in a lawsuit filed by the FHJC and co-plaintiff Naomi Henderson. The lawsuit alleged source of income discrimination at the Brooklyn properties Beach Haven Apartments, located at 9-49 Murdock Court and 2662 West 2nd Street, and Theda Gardens, located at 1402 West 4th Street.

FHJC and Ms. Henderson have settled with the defendants associated with Beach Haven Apartments:  Beach Haven owners Beach Haven Apartments Associates LLCRubin Schron, and Herb Dumain, property managers Apartment Management Associates LLC d/b/a Revona Properties, and Revona employee Jimit Shah (the “Beach Haven Defendants”).  The case will continue against the defendants associated with Theda Gardens: owners 1402 Owners Corp. and David Spira, real estate company ERN Group Inc. d/b/a Ern Flats, and real estate agent Simi Fishof.

Initially filed in August, 2022, the complaint stemmed from an extensive investigation conducted by the FHJC after being contacted by a real estate agent on behalf of Ms. Henderson, a 67-year-old New Yorker and notable life-long activist, who was living in a homeless shelter and who was struggling to find an apartment using her CityFHEPS voucher. The FHJC investigation found that Defendants treated potential applicants who stated they would be paying their rent with income derived from employment positively, giving them warm and encouraging responses, while voucher-holding applicants were routinely ghosted, as Ms. Henderson and her agent had been. The full Amended Complaint can be read HERE.

While denying the allegations, the Beach Haven Defendants agreed to collectively pay $350,000 in damages and have offered Ms. Henderson a one-bedroom apartment at Beach Haven using her current voucher.

Defendants will also participate in extensive injunctive relief, including:

  • Refraining from source of income discrimination
  • Applying non-discriminatory policies, procedures, and rules to all rental applicants
  • Adopting an equal housing opportunity policy for any and all owners, members, partners, executives, employees, agents, or other persons involved in showing or providing information about apartments
  • Publicly advertising available Beach Haven apartments on Craigslist and Streeteasy before directly informing any prospective applicants or real estate agents
  • Including the phrase “Equal Housing Opportunity – all sources of income welcome, including government vouchers such as Section 8 and CityFHEPS” in a large font on Craigslist and Streeteasy ads
  • Requiring fair housing training for the owners and their employees and agents involved in fielding inquiries about, showing, and renting apartments in Beach Haven Apartments, as well as employees who supervise such persons in other Revona owned or managed buildings.
  • Working with applicants to allow any applicable fees or deposits to be covered by their voucher program and/or government assistance.
  • Placing a letter of discipline in Defendant Shah’s record warning him of suspension or termination for future violations
  • Placing prominent HUD fair housing signage at Beach Haven, along with signage directing all apartment inquiries to the email address and phone number for Beach Haven’s leasing office
  • Including a fair housing logo and/or language on all apartment advertisements and on all print materials given to prospective rental applicants.

The settlement was so-ordered by Kings County Supreme Court Judge Peter P. Sweeney on November 29, 2023. The full settlement can be read HERE.

“After three years being homeless, it took the power of this lawsuit to get me out of the shelters and into an apartment that I could and should have had back in April 2022 – in one of the buildings I loved,” said plaintiff Naomi Henderson. “I have my life back. With a real home of my own, I can cook my own food, keep my own hours, and do my creative and healing work. I am so grateful to FHJC and the team of ‘wonder women’ working on my case,” she added.

“Defendants’ source of income discrimination prolonged Ms. Henderson’s time in NYC shelters.  This lawsuit gave her the dignity of decent, safe and secure permanent housing, along with the oversight and remedial measures so that what happened to her doesn’t happen to others,” added Attorney Deborah H. Karpatkin, who represents Ms. Henderson.

“Too many New York landlords and agents still believe that it’s cheaper and easier to ignore voucher holders than it is to work with them to find the safe and decent housing that they have already qualified for,” stated FHJC Legal Coordinator Madhulika Murali. “This settlement should make them reconsider whether they want to continue violating the law.”

Attorneys Mariann Wang and Heather Gregorio with the law firm Cuti Hecker Wang LLP represent the FHJC in this lawsuit. “We are hopeful that by achieving significant and broad relief, this settlement will be another step toward creating a city where individuals and families with vouchers have access to the housing they need and deserve,” Ms. Gregorio stated.

The mission of the FHJC, a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen enforcement of fair housing laws in the New York City region.