残疾歧视案达成和解

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2024 年 3 月 13 日

FHJC 投诉称多次违反设计和施工规定

3 月 13 日,联邦法官 丹尼斯-L-科特 批准了 公平住房正义中心 业主 卡内基管理公司 布鲁克纳大厦有限责任公司 和建筑师 Fischer + Makooi Architects PLLC.

该诉讼基于 2018年由FHJC开展的一项检测调查该案指控,被告在设计和建造位于 布鲁克纳大道 25 号.确定为 错落有致 Legato统称为 高潮这些建筑包括约 130 套公寓以及公共和共用区域。

2018 年的调查发现,The Crescendo 的公寓和公共区域有许多不符合规定的设施,包括门的宽度不够,无法使用;缺乏进入和通过住宅单元的无障碍通道;电源插座放置在无障碍位置;一些浴室和厨房没有足够的净地板空间。

卡内基管理公司 (Carnegie Management Inc)、布鲁克纳大厦有限责任公司 (Bruckner Tower, LLC) 和 Fischer + Makooi 建筑设计公司 (Fischer + Makooi Architects PLLC) 承认没有任何不当行为,但将共同支付 $200,000 美元,以赔偿原告在诉讼中对被告提出的索赔。

协议还包括禁令救济,要求被告对建筑进行改造,使住房更无障碍,从而解决被指控的不合规问题。

其他禁令包括在租房申请中加入公平住房政策,在租房办公室张贴住房和城市发展部的海报,以及在被告的网站上加入平等住房机会的语言或标识。被告的员工还必须参加有关公平住房法的培训。

可以阅读完整的和解协议 这里.

"无障碍住房是一项公民权利。 Cass Sicherer."开发商和建筑师设计和建造的新多户住宅往往不符合《公平住房法》的无障碍要求。此次和解提醒开发商和建筑师,他们必须建造符合《公平住房法》的建筑。

FHJC 对此案的调查得到了以下机构的部分或全部资助 私人执法倡议 (PEI) 补助金。 公平住房倡议方案 (FHIP)所管理的。 美国住房和城市发展部 (HUD)。

FHJC 是一个非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;推广促进开放、无障碍和包容性社区的政策和计划;以及加强纽约市地区的公平住房执法工作。

• /
  • Enforcement
  • /
  • Settlement Reached in Disability Discrimination Case

Settlement Reached in Disability Discrimination Case

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

March 13, 2024

FHJC COMPLAINT ALLEGED REPEATED DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION VIOLATIONS

On March 13, Federal Judge Denise L. Cote approved a consent judgment between the Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC), owners Carnegie Management Inc and Bruckner Tower, LLC, and architects Fischer + Makooi Architects PLLC.

The lawsuit, based on the results of a testing investigation conducted by the FHJC in 2018, alleged that the defendants failed to comply with the accessibility requirements in the design and construction of two buildings located at 25 Bruckner Boulevard. Identified as The Staccato and the Legato, known collectively as The Crescendo, these buildings contain approximately 130 apartments along with public and common use areas.

The 2018 investigation found numerous non-compliant features in the apartments and common areas of The Crescendo, including doors that were not sufficiently wide enough to be usable, a lack of accessible routes into and through dwelling units, electrical outlets placed in inaccessible locations, and not enough clear floor space in some bathrooms and kitchens.

While admitting no wrongdoing, Carnegie Management Inc, Bruckner Tower, LLC, and Fischer + Makooi Architects PLLC will collectively pay $200,000 in damages related to claims brought by Plaintiff against the Defendants in the action.

The agreement also includes injunctive relief that addresses the alleged non-compliant features by requiring defendants to perform modifications to the building to make the housing more accessible.

Other injunctive relief includes inserting a fair housing policy on rental applications, posting a HUD poster in the rental office, and including equal housing opportunity language or logos on Defendant’s websites. Defendant’s covered employees will also be required to attend trainings on fair housing laws.

The full settlement can be read HERE.

“Accessible housing is a civil right,” said the FHJC’s Disability Justice and Accessibility Legal Fellow Cass Sicherer. “Far too often developers and architects design and construct new multi-family housing that is not in compliance with the accessibility requirements of the Fair Housing Act. This settlement is a reminder to developers and architects that they are required to create FHA compliant builds.”

FHJC’s investigation in this case was supported, in part or in whole, with funding from a Private Enforcement Initiative (PEI) grant received from the Fair Housing Initiatives Program (FHIP) administered by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

The mission of the FHJC, a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen fair housing enforcement in the New York City region.