• /
  • 执法
  • /
  • 州政府认定 FHJC 残疾歧视案存在合理原因

州政府认定 FHJC 残疾歧视案存在合理原因

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2024 年 3 月 28 日

案件将在纽约州人权处或法院进行审理

公平住房正义中心(FHJC)今天宣布 纽约州人权司 (DHR) 发现,有正当理由相信成人护理机构的经营者、 Boulevard ALP Associates LLC, Queens Boulevard ALP LLC他们认为,"在住房方面对使用轮椅的残疾人进行或正在进行歧视"。现在,此案将在人力资源部或通过法院诉讼继续进行。有关人力资源部裁决的详细信息,请阅读 这里.

此案源于 由 FHJC 开展的 2022 年调查 该调查是针对其收到的关于这些机构有关轮椅政策的投诉而进行的。调查发现,这些机构的网站上存在歧视性声明,声称他们不接受 "长期 "使用轮椅的住户。调查还发现,被投诉人对声称代表使用轮椅的亲属申请的测试者和声称代表无需帮助即可行走的亲属申请的测试者区别对待。请阅读投诉原文 这里.

"FHJC 执行董事兼总法律顾问表示:"本案的法律规定非常明确:住房提供商不得歧视残疾人。 伊丽莎白-格罗斯曼 (Elizabeth Grossman)."事实同样清楚:Boulevard ALP 是一家拒绝向使用轮椅的残障人士出租房屋的房屋提供商;他们在广告中明确说明了这一政策;他们拒绝在其规则和政策中为轮椅使用者提供合理的便利。我们期待着继续处理此事,追究 Boulevard ALP 的责任,确保他们公平对待残疾人。

2023 年 2 月 纽约州卫生局 宣布修改有关歧视行动不便者入住林荫大道 ALP 等成人护理机构的规定。这些规定现在明确指出,成人护理机构1)必须对使用轮椅者的居住条件进行单独评估;2)必须考虑残障人士提出的合理便利要求;3)不能再断然拒绝包括使用轮椅者在内的行动不便者入住。这些法规变化是由 FHJC 于 2018 年提起的诉讼推动的。有关公告的详细信息,请阅读 这里.

FHJC对Boulevard案件的调查得到了私人执法计划(PEI)的资助,该计划由公平住房倡议计划(FHIP)管理。 美国住房和城市发展部 (HUD)。

在本申诉中,FHJC 由以下律师代理 凯文-克雷明、坦雅-凯斯勒 Jota Borgmann正义动员组织.

FHJC是一个非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;促进政策和方案,以促进开放、无障碍和包容性的社区;并加强纽约市地区公平住房法的执行。

• /
  • Enforcement
  • /
  • State Finds Probable Cause in FHJC Disability Discrimination Case

State Finds Probable Cause in FHJC Disability Discrimination Case

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

March 28, 2024

CASE TO PROCEED AT NYS HUMAN RIGHTS DIVISION OR IN COURT

The Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC) announced today that the New York State Division of Human Rights (DHR) has found that probable cause exists to believe the adult care facility operators, Boulevard ALP Associates LLC, Queens Boulevard ALP LLC, engaged in or are engaging in housing discrimination against people with disabilities who use wheelchairs. The case will now proceed either at the DHR or through court action. Full details of DHR’s determination can be read HERE.

The case stems from a 2022 investigation conducted by the FHJC in response to a complaint it received about the facilities’ policies regarding wheelchairs. The investigation found discriminatory statements on the facilities’ websites claiming they do not accept residents who “chronically” use wheelchairs. The investigation also revealed disparate treatment by the Respondents toward testers who claimed to be applying on behalf of relatives who used wheelchairs and testers who claimed to be applying on behalf of relatives who could walk without assistance. The original complaint can be read HERE.

“The law in this case is clear: Housing providers may not discriminate against people with disabilities,” stated FHJC Executive Director/General Counsel Elizabeth Grossman. “The facts are equally clear: Boulevard ALP is a housing provider who refused to rent to people with disabilities who use wheelchairs; they clearly stated this policy in their advertising; and they refused to make reasonable accommodations in their rules and policies for wheelchair users. We look forward to moving ahead with this matter to hold Boulevard ALP accountable and to ensure their fair treatment of people with disabilities.”

In February 2023, the New York State Department of Health announced changes to its regulations regarding discrimination against individuals with mobility impairments seeking to live in adult care facilities like the Boulevard ALPs. The rules now explicitly state that adult care facilities: 1) must individually assess people who use wheelchairs for residency; 2) must consider requests for reasonable accommodations from people with disabilities; and 3) can no longer outright bar individuals with mobility impairments, including people who use wheelchairs, from residency. These regulatory changes were driven by a lawsuit brought by the FHJC in 2018. Details of the announcement can be read HERE.

FHJC’s investigation in the Boulevard case was supported with funding from a Private Enforcement Initiative (PEI) grant received from the Fair Housing Initiatives Program (FHIP) administered by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

The FHJC is represented in this complaint by attorneys Kevin Cremin, Tanya Kessler, and Jota Borgmann with Mobilization for Justice, Inc.

The mission of the FHJC, a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen enforcement of fair housing laws in the New York City region.