• /
  • 政策
  • /
  • 纽约全州经济适用房与公平住房圆桌会议联合召集人发布公平住房主要报告五年更新版

纽约全州经济适用房与公平住房圆桌会议联合召集人发布公平住房主要报告五年更新版

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2024 年 2 月 6 日

对具有里程碑意义的 弥合鸿沟 报告审查了纽约在 2019 年确定的公平住房目标方面的进展和不足之处

ǞǞǞ 公平住房正义中心 (FHJC)和 企业社区合作伙伴、 共同召集人 全州经济适用房和公平住房圆桌会议、 今天发布了一份关于 2019 年出版物的进展报告、 消除鸿沟:创建公平、包容和负担得起的社区.

The cover of the new Closing the Divide report update

代表全州经济适用房和公平住房组织观点的重要出版物、 结束分割该报告概述了纽约州实现公平住房的 9 大障碍,并提出了解决这些障碍的具体政策建议。新发布的进展报告评估了纽约州在过去五年中取得的进步,并概述了仍然存在的障碍,在新一届立法会议即将召开之际,这些障碍必须成为政策制定者的首要考虑因素。

2024 年进度报告》认为,2019 年的一项开创性工作在一定程度上推动了对促进公平住房的关注。 新闻日报 调查发现,长岛的房地产中介中普遍存在基于种族的住房歧视。在 "圆桌会议 "的支持下,纽约州立法者通过了超过 13 项解决住房歧视问题的法案,其中包括纽约州《积极促进公平住房法案》。然而,进展报告明确指出,还需要采取更多的行动,包括建议采取的具体措施,以扩大公平住房保护范围并增加执法活动。

"我们很高兴'圆桌会议'过去五年来的工作在一些关键领域取得了进展。然而,猖獗的歧视仍然是纽约人选择住房的重要障碍。 布兰妮-麦肯锡 (Britny McKenzie)."我们希望这份进展报告能唤起人们对现在必须解决的关键障碍的关注"。

"我们看到,自 2019 年以来,经济适用房和公平住房取得了许多变革性的胜利,包括纽约州通过了禁止收入来源歧视的禁令,如果没有全州倡导者的不懈努力,所有这些胜利都不会发生。 巴巴-哈尔姆企业社区合作伙伴纽约副总裁兼市场领导者。"但是,还有许多关键步骤尚未采取,而这些步骤将为成千上万的纽约人带来改变生活的变化。由于我们面临着全州范围内经济适用房日益短缺的问题,我们敦促我们的州和地方立法者共同制定这些重要的建议"。

中确定的具体优先事项 弥合鸿沟、 以及此后几年在实现这些目标方面取得的进展,包括

  • 通过首都地区改善租户保护.虽然纽约已加强了其房租管理法律,但 COVID-19 大流行病在过去几年的影响揭示了新出现的脆弱性,如房租高涨和住房无保障,决策者必须解决这些问题,以确保租户受到保护。
  • 消除排斥性分区和其他土地使用障碍,促进无障碍、一体化和经济适用住房的发展。 虽然纽约市在州政府不作为的情况下通过了自己的《公平住房框架》,但真正意义上的全州范围的综合规划、增长和经济适用房公平份额方法尚未颁布。这必须包括建立一个住房上诉委员会和一个全州空置公寓收购计划。
  • 最大化密度,解决整个地区的经济适用多户住宅开发问题。 随着纽约市一些机会较多的社区重新分区,以及州长霍楚尔(Hochul)最近发布 2023 年行政命令,将资源导向州内的支持住房社区,我们已经取得了一些进展。但是,面对与气候变化相关的住房风险和不断攀升的经济适用房短缺问题,包括地下室公寓合法化和更广泛的附属住宅单元(ADUs)合法化在内的尚未实现的优先事项变得更加重要。一个全面的、以数据为导向的增长计划也将有助于解决全州对更密集住房的需求。
  • 扩大全州收入来源保护。 在企业部和许多其他圆桌会议成员的推动下,纽约州于 2019 年 4 月通过了一项具有里程碑意义的禁止收入来源歧视的禁令,并为公平住房测试计划提供了资金,为公平住房取得了重大胜利。进度报告目前的建议包括优先增加公平住房测试计划的资金,并在全州范围内开展更多教育工作,以打击新出现的代理歧视,并告知租房者、房东和经纪人他们在法律下的权利和义务。
  • 加强对涉案人员的保护。 2019 年以来通过的重要措施包括纽约州的《清白法案》(Clean Slate Act)和纽约市议会的《住房公平机会法案》(Fair Chance for Housing Act),以及 "涉案司法人员支持性住房计划"(JISH)等举措的设立,这些都提供了宝贵的机会。然而,对住房的需求以及保护涉案司法人员免受歧视的需求超过了当前的解决方案。
  • 加强整个地区的真正流动性。 纽约州已认识到需要更多资源,让更多纽约人能够真正选择住房,包括在几个地区支持由 "企业 "组织管理的 "移动计划"(Making Moves Mobility)。此外,纽约市最近宣布,CityFHEPS 租金援助凭证可用于纽约州任何地方的住房。然而,得到广泛支持的解决方案,如拟议中的 "住房使用券计划"(HAVP),仍有待纽约州颁布并提供资金。

最终 弥合鸿沟 进展报告认为,虽然在通过法律和分配资金以促进公平和经济适用住房方面做出了巨大努力,但还需要采取更多行动来解决住房供应和密度问题、经济流动性限制、排他性分区、取消种族隔离以及歧视执法等问题。本进度报告提出了具体可行的措施,这些措施将使美国更接近于创建真正公平、包容和可负担得起的社区。

由纽约州 30 个组织组成的全州经济适用房与公平住房圆桌会议于 2017 年启动,并制定了 2019 年 弥合鸿沟 经过一年多的合作,与会者确定了影响经济适用房和公平住房行业的共同优先事项,这些部门可以共同努力推进这些优先事项。

查看全文 弥合鸿沟 进度报告(2024 年),请点击 这里.

关于企业社区合作伙伴
企业组织是一家全国性的非营利组织,其宗旨是为数百万没有住房的家庭提供一个美好的家园。我们支持当地的社区发展组织,聚合和投资资本以产生影响,在各级政府推动住房政策,并自己建设和管理社区。自 1982 年以来,我们已经投资了 $64 亿美元,在美国 50 个州、哥伦比亚特区、波多黎各和美属维尔京群岛建造了 951,000 所房屋,所有这些都是为了让家和社区成为充满自豪感、力量和归属感的地方。加入我们 enterprisecommunity.org.

关于公平住房正义中心
公平住房正义中心(FHJC)是一家位于纽约市的地区性民权组织,致力于消除住房歧视,促进开放、无障碍和包容性社区的发展,并加强公平住房法的执行力度。公平住房正义中心的调查已导致超过 155 起法律诉讼,改变了许多住房提供商的经营方式,为以前被排斥在外的人提供了 8 万多个住房机会,并为住房歧视受害者追回了超过 $55 百万美元的赔偿金和罚金。了解更多信息,请访问 www.fairhousingjustice.org.

• /
  • Policy
  • /
  • New York’s Statewide Affordable and Fair Housing Roundtable Co-Conveners Release Five-Year Update to Major Fair Housing Report

New York’s Statewide Affordable and Fair Housing Roundtable Co-Conveners Release Five-Year Update to Major Fair Housing Report

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

February 6, 2024

The update to the landmark Closing the Divide report examines New York’s progress and shortcomings on the fair housing goals identified in 2019

The Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC) and Enterprise Community Partners, co-conveners of the Statewide Affordable and Fair Housing Roundtable, today released a progress report regarding the 2019 publication, Closing the Divide: Creating Equitable, Inclusive, and Affordable Communities.

The cover of the new Closing the Divide report update

A major publication representing the perspectives of both affordable and fair housing organizations statewide, Closing the Divide outlined 9 major barriers to achieving equitable housing in New York State and laid out specific policy recommendations to address them. The newly released progress report assesses advances made in New York in the five years since, and outlines the barriers that persist and which must be at the forefront of policymakers’ minds as we approach a new legislative session.

The 2024 progress report finds that there has been a more consistent focus on furthering fair housing, galvanized in part by a groundbreaking 2019 Newsday investigation identifying widespread housing discrimination among real estate agents in Long Island based on race. With the Roundtable’s support, New York State legislators have since passed more than 13 bills tackling housing discrimination, including the NYS Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing bill. However, the progress report definitively finds that that much more action, including specific suggested measures, is needed to expand fair housing protections and increase enforcement activity.

“We are pleased that the Roundtable’s work over the last five years has led to progress in a number of key areas. However, rampant discrimination remains a critical impediment to New Yorkers’ housing choice,” stated FHJC’s Policy Manager Britny McKenzie. “We hope that this progress report calls attention to critical barriers that must be addressed now.”

“We’ve seen many transformational victories for affordable and fair housing since 2019, including the passage of New York State’s ban on source of income discrimination, all of which would not have happened with the dedicated work of advocates across the State,” says Baaba Halm, New York vice president and market leader of Enterprise Community Partners. “But too many crucial steps remain untaken that would make a life-changing difference for thousands of New Yorkers. As we face an increasing Statewide shortage of affordable housing, we urge our state and local lawmakers to come together to enact these vital recommendations.”

Specific priorities identified in Closing the Divide, and progress made to achieve them in the years since, include:

  • Improving Tenant Protections through the Metropolitan Region. While New York has strengthened its rent regulation laws, the COVID-19 pandemic’s impact in the past few years has revealed emerging vulnerabilities such as high rent increases and housing insecurity, which must be addressed by policymakers to ensure tenants are protected.
  • Removing Exclusionary Zoning and Other Land Use Barriers to Promote Accessible, Integrated and Affordable Housing. While New York City has passed its own Fair Housing Framework in the face of State inaction, a true Statewide approach to comprehensive planning, growth, and affordable housing fair share has yet to be enacted. This must include the creation of a Housing Appeals Board and a Statewide Vacant Apartments Acquisition Program.
  • Maximizing Density to Address Affordable Multifamily Housing Development Throughout the Region. Progress has been made, with the rezoning of select higher-opportunity neighborhoods in New York City and with a recent 2023 Executive Order from Governor Hochul to direct resources to Pro-Housing Communities around the State. But unrealized priorities, including legalizing basement apartments and more widely legalizing Accessory Dwelling Units (ADUs), have only become more essential in the face of climate change-related housing risks and the spiraling affordable housing shortage. A comprehensive, data-driven growth plan would also help to tackle the need for denser housing Statewide.
  • Expanding Statewide Source of Income Protections. In significant victories for fair housing, driven by Enterprise and many other Roundtable members, New York State passed a landmark ban on source of income discrimination in April 2019 and funded the Fair Housing Testing program. The progress report’s current recommendations include prioritizing increased funding for the Fair Housing Testing program and implementing more Statewide education efforts to combat emerging proxy discrimination and inform renters, landlords, and brokers of their rights and obligations under the law.
  • Increasing Protections for Justice-Involved Individuals. Significant measures passed since 2019 include New York State’s Clean Slate Act and the New York City Council’s Fair Chance for Housing Act, as well as the creation of initiatives like the Justice Involved Supportive Housing Program (JISH), which offer valuable opportunities. However, the need for housing and protection against discrimination towards the justice-involved population outpaces current solutions.
  • Bolstering True Mobility Throughout the Region. The State has recognized the need for additional resources to enable true housing choice for more New Yorkers, including its support of the Making Moves Mobility program, administered by Enterprise, in several regions. In addition, New York City recently announced that CityFHEPS rental assistance vouchers can be used for housing anywhere in New York State. However, widely supported solutions such as the proposed Housing Access Voucher Program (HAVP) remain on the table for the State to enact and fund.

Ultimately, the Closing the Divide progress report finds while significant effort has been made in the form of laws passed and funding allocated to advance fair and affordable housing, much more action is needed to address housing supply and density issues, economic mobility limitations, exclusionary zoning, desegregation, and enforcement of discrimination. The progress report identifies concrete and achievable measures that would bring the State much closer to creating truly equitable, inclusive, and affordable communities.

A coalition of 30 New York organizations, the Statewide Affordable and Fair Housing Roundtable was launched in 2017 and developed the 2019 Closing the Divide report after more than a year of collaboration, as the participants identified shared priorities affecting the affordable and fair housing industries that these sectors could work together to advance.

To view the full Closing the Divide progress report (2024), click HERE.

About Enterprise Community Partners
Enterprise is a national nonprofit that exists to make a good home possible for the millions of families without one. We support community development organizations on the ground, aggregate and invest capital for impact, advance housing policy at every level of government, and build and manage communities ourselves. Since 1982, we have invested $64 billion and created 951,000 homes across all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands – all to make home and community places of pride, power and belonging. Join us at enterprisecommunity.org.

About the Fair Housing Justice Center
The Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC), a regional civil rights organization based in New York City, is dedicated to eliminating housing discrimination, promoting open, accessible, and inclusive communities, and strengthening the enforcement of fair housing laws. FHJC investigations have led to more than 155 legal challenges that have changed the way many housing providers do business, opened more than 80,000 housing opportunities to previously excluded people, and recovered more than $55 million in damages and penalties for victims of housing discrimination. Learn more at www.fairhousingjustice.org.