• /
  • 执法
  • /
  • 先到先得(除非您有代金券)

先到先得(除非您有代金券)

照片:伯纳德-克莱纳

2022年8月28日

在新的FHJC诉讼中指控收入来源歧视

今天 公平住房正义中心 (FHJC)和共同原告人 Naomi Henderson 在纽约州最高法院提起诉讼,指控布鲁克林的房产存在收入来源歧视。 海滩天堂公寓、 位于9-49 Murdock Court和2662 West 2 街,和 Theda花园、 位于西四街1402号。

被指定的被告是Beach Haven的业主 海滨港公寓联营有限公司, 鲁宾-施隆,以及 赫伯-杜曼,Theda花园的主人 1402业主公司。, 物业管理人 公寓管理协会有限责任公司 d/b/a Revona Properties, 雷沃纳员工 Jimit Shah, 房地产公司 ERN Group Inc. d/b/a Ern Flats,以及 Simi Fishof他是一名房地产经纪人,据称他的执照在2020年到期,在起诉书中指控的事件发生时还没有更新。

亨德森女士是住在皇后区无家可归者收容所的居民,她在2021年获得了一张CityFHEPS凭证,该凭证可以支付她每月100%的房租,最高为$1,945。2022年3月,她开始与一名房地产经纪人合作,在布鲁克林区寻找并获得一套租金在凭证允许范围内的公寓。

根据起诉书,该代理人确定了多个属于适当租金范围的公寓。他询问了空房情况,并分别与被告Jimit Shah和Simi Fishof进行了沟通。但是,当Shah先生和Fishof女士被告知他的客户的凭证时,他们不再回复他的信息。尽管他在一封电子邮件中说:"请注意,我的客户不仅在法律上有资格租用这套公寓,而且在申请前也可以看一看,如果她想这样做的话",但他完全被这两个代理人所忽视。

在观察到他的客户受到的歧视性待遇后,投诉人继续说,亨德森女士的代理人联系了FHJC,后者组织了一系列独立的测试,以确定被告是否因收入来源而对潜在租户进行系统性歧视。

在2022年4月的若干天里,FHJC的测试者冒充租房者与中介联系,询问各种广告公寓的可用性。根据投诉,声称自己符合就业来源的最低收入要求的测试者得到了热情的回应,参观了公寓,甚至还得到了其他建筑中可用公寓的信息。与此形成鲜明对比的是,那些声称他们将使用政府凭证支付租金的测试者,就像亨德森女士那样,完全被拒之门外。

投诉称,从测试的时间来看--在同一公寓单元中,中介对有工作收入的测试者前后都给予了积极的回应,而对有凭证的测试者则完全不闻不问,这表明这种行为不能用单元可用性的变化来解释。亨德森女士所经历的歧视也不是一个孤立的事件。相反,这是一个系统性计划的一部分,目的是阻止住房券参与者在被告的建筑中获得住房。

"收入来源的歧视在纽约市已经有近15年的时间是非法的,"FHJC执行主任说。 伊丽莎白-格罗斯曼 (Elizabeth Grossman)."大力解决这个问题是减少该地区猖獗的住房隔离现象的斗争中的一个关键因素。"

检察官 Mariann Wang 同意。"更多的中介和楼主需要认识到,住房歧视--包括收入来源的歧视--在纽约市不会被容忍。被告人对住房券参与者的'幽灵化',与发布不接受住房券的政策具有同样的有害影响;最终挫败了住房券计划的目标,即为最弱势的纽约人提供安全和稳定的住房。"王女士和 希瑟-格雷戈里奥 与该律师事务所 库蒂-赫克尔-王律师事务所 在这场诉讼中代表FHJC。

检察官 Deborah H. Karpatkin 代表亨德森女士的律师补充说:"到今天为止,由于被告的歧视性和非法行为,亨德森女士仍然生活在庇护所里,被剥夺了体面、安全和有保障的永久住房的尊严。我们期待本案有一个积极的结果,并为亨德森女士和其他像她一样的人伸张正义"。

该诉讼指控违反了纽约市和纽约州的人权法,并寻求补偿性和惩罚性赔偿,以及禁止性救济,以阻止收入歧视的来源。诉状全文可以阅读 这里.

FHJC是一个非营利性民权组织,其使命是消除住房歧视;促进政策和方案,以促进开放、无障碍和包容性的社区;并加强纽约市地区公平住房法的执行。

• /
  • Enforcement
  • /
  • First Come, First Served (Unless You Have a Voucher)

First Come, First Served (Unless You Have a Voucher)

Photo © by Bernard Kleina

August 28, 2022

SOURCE OF INCOME DISCRIMINATION ALLEGED IN NEW FHJC LAWSUIT

Today, the Fair Housing Justice Center (FHJC) and co-plaintiff Naomi Henderson filed a lawsuit in New York State Supreme Court alleging source of income discrimination at the Brooklyn properties Beach Haven Apartments, located at 9-49 Murdock Court and 2662 West 2nd Street, and Theda Gardens, located at 1402 West 4th Street.

The named defendants are Beach Haven owners Beach Haven Apartments Associates LLC, Rubin Schron, and Herb Dumain, Theda Gardens owner 1402 Owners Corp., property managers Apartment Management Associates LLC d/b/a Revona Properties, Revona employee Jimit Shah, real estate company ERN Group Inc. d/b/a Ern Flats, and Simi Fishof, a real estate agent whose license allegedly expired in 2020 and had not been renewed at the time of the events alleged in the complaint.

Ms. Henderson is a Queens resident living in a homeless shelter who was provided a CityFHEPS voucher in 2021 that would cover 100% of her rent payments up to $1,945 per month. In March of 2022 she began working with a real estate agent to identify and secure an apartment in Brooklyn that was within the rent range allowed by her voucher.

According to the complaint, this agent identified multiple apartments that fell within the appropriate rent range. He made inquiries about availability, communicating separately with defendants Jimit Shah and Simi Fishof. But when Mr. Shah and Ms. Fishof were informed about his client’s voucher, they stopped responding to his messages. He was completely ghosted by both agents, despite stating in one email “Please note that my client is both legally eligible to not only rent this apartment, but also to view it as well before applying, should she wish to do so.”

After observing the discriminatory treatment of his client, the complaint continues, Ms. Henderson’s agent reached out to the FHJC, who organized a series of several separate tests to determine whether Defendants were systemically discriminating against potential tenants on the basis of their source of income.

Over the course of a number of days in April 2022, FHJC testers posing as renters contacted the agents to inquire about availability of various advertised apartments. According to the complaint, testers who stated that they met minimum income requirements from employment sources received warm responses, tours of the apartments, and even information about available apartments in other buildings. In stark contrast, the testers who stated that they would be using government vouchers to cover the rent were completely ghosted, as Ms. Henderson had been.

The complaint alleges that the timing of the tests – in which the agents responded positively to testers with income from employment both before and after entirely ghosting testers with vouchers, regarding the same apartment units – reveals that the behavior cannot be explained by changes in unit availability. Nor was the discrimination that Ms. Henderson experienced an isolated incident. Rather, it was part of a systemic scheme to prevent housing voucher participants from accessing housing in the defendants’ buildings.

“Source of income discrimination has been illegal in New York City for nearly fifteen years,” stated FHJC Executive Director Elizabeth Grossman. “Vigorously addressing it is a crucial element in the fight to reduce the area’s rampant housing segregation.”

Attorney Mariann Wang agreed. “More agents and building owners need to realize that housing discrimination – including source-of-income discrimination – will not be tolerated in New York City. Defendants’ ‘ghosting’ of voucher participants has the same harmful effects as posting a policy that housing vouchers will not be accepted; ultimately thwarting the goals of voucher programs that seek to provide safe and stable housing for the most vulnerable New Yorkers.” Ms. Wang and Heather Gregorio with the law firm Cuti Hecker Wang LLP represent the FHJC in this lawsuit.

Attorney Deborah H. Karpatkin who represents Ms. Henderson, added: “As of today, because of defendants’ discriminatory and unlawful acts, Ms. Henderson is still living in a shelter and denied the dignity of decent, safe and secure permanent housing. We are looking forward to a positive outcome in this case, and justice for Ms. Henderson and for others like her.”

The lawsuit alleges violations of the New York City and New York State Human Rights Laws and seeks compensatory and punitive damages as well as injunctive relief to stop the source of income discrimination. The full complaint can be read HERE.

The mission of the FHJC, a nonprofit civil rights organization, is to eliminate housing discrimination; promote policies and programs that foster open, accessible, and inclusive communities; and strengthen enforcement of fair housing laws in the New York City region.